Search Latest News Articles

Custom Search

Tuesday, September 29, 2009

Hailakandi Municipal Board sworn in, Swapan Deb as Chairman

HAILAKANDI, Sept 29 – Swapan Deb has taken over charge of the chairman of the 16-member Hailakandi Municipal Board for the second time, in a function held at the conference hall of the board’s office recently. He was administered the oath of office by the Deputy Commissioner of Hailakandi Tapan Chandra Goswami. The commissioners of two wards (2 and 8) could not take the oath as court case was hanging in the Gauhati High Court regarding the results of these two wards.

MP Lalit Mohan Suklavaidya also took the oath of office as the ex-officio member of the board. Earlier, commissioner Sudip Biswas was selected as pro-tem speaker of the board. The oath taking ceremony was attended by the additional deputy commissioner cum executive officer of the municipality, president of the District Congress-I Committee, Ashoke Dutta Gupta among others.

On the other hand, the 10-member Lala Town Committee of Hailakandi district was also constituted with Nandita Das as chairperson. It may be mentioned here that the seat of the chairperson in Lala Town Committee was reserved for Schedule Caste woman by the government. The oath taking ceremony was also conducted by the deputy commissioner of Hailakandi, Tapan Chandra Goswami. ASSAM TRIBUNE

No comments: