Search Latest News Articles

Custom Search

Friday, December 25, 2009

Gautam Roy and Bikash Barua reelected as ACA President and Secretary resp.

GUWAHATI, Dec 25: The new committee of the Assam Cricket Association (ACA) was formed  in its annual general meeting held in Hailakandi today. There was not too much change in the committee as both Gautam Roy and Bikash Barua have retained the post of president and  general secretary respectively.  Both were unopposed at the meeting. Ghanshyam Barua, treasurer of the last committee, too extended his tenure in the same post without any opposition. The election was held for only vice-president’s post and Dr Brojen Gohain won it by defeating Prabin Konwar by 42-38 votes.

It may be mentioned here that a lot of discussion was held during the last few days on the election of Assam Cricket Association as dissident members, both from within and out of the Assam Cricket Association, were in a mood to bring a change because they were not happy at the performance of the earlier committee. However, good performance of the State teams at various level competitions of BCCI and the ongoing work of the ACA’s new cricket stadium at Barshapara possibly helped the top brass of the Assam Cricket Association to stay in their posts for one more term.

The new committee:
President: Gautam Roy.
Vice-presidents: Himanta Biswa Sharma, Rockybul Hussain, Rup Kamal Kakati, Babul Hore, Abdul Gaffar Zaman, Brojen Gohain and Rani Narah.
Secretary: Bikash Barua.
Treasurer: Ghanshyam Barua.
Joint secretaries: Bishnuram Nunisha and Umananda Bora.
Assistant secretaries: Ajoy Sharma and Sushanta Biswa Sharma.
Governing body members: Niloy Dutta, Anjan Dutta,  Pradip Hazarika, Pradip Buragohain, Dilip Choudhury, Aravinda Das, Bhakti Medhi, Pradip Das, Imdad Hussain, Munindra Saikia and Biman Bihari Sinha. THE SENTINEL

No comments: