Search Latest News Articles

Custom Search

Friday, December 25, 2009

Kirit Bhushan Purkayastha elected as new Cachar BJP Chief

SILCHAR, Dec 25: Amid numerous speculations on who will be the next president of the Cachar district unit of the BJP, veteran BJP leader Kirit Bhushan Purkayastha was elected as the president of the district BJP unit today.

Other two candidates Gitesh Ranjan Dev backed by MLA Dr Rumi Nath and Partha Sarathi Chanda backed by former Union Minister and MP Kabindra Purkayastha, who were also in fray to the president’s post, finished second and third in the election respectively. Dev polled eight votes and Chanda got only six votes.

According to observers, the victory of Kirit Bhushan marks the begining of the end of the former Union Minister’s plan to project his son Kanad Purkaystha as the think tank of the district BJP.

It was reported that Kanad along with a group of supporters had tried to manipulate the election of the district BJP president at various block committees but this only consolidated the victory of Kirit Bhushan Purkayastha.

The election took place at the district Library Auditorium with Kirit sweeping 50 per cent of the votes defeating his two competitors. Later he told The Sentinel that he had no personal grudges with his brother and that every family had to see many ups and downs at times. He stressed on the unity of all party members.
Partha Sarathi Chanda, however, refused to comment on his defeat. Meanwhile, Mihir Chakraborty was elected unanimously as the president of the Hailakandi BJP district committee. THE SENTINEL

No comments: